Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 127.25678%

Ludwig Set 1963 with A Zildjians

Hey guys... I really enjoy perusing the site, and just recently decided to register because I wanted to make a post about my drums. I have a Ludwig set that my parents bought me back in the 1980s, that I finally dug out of the attic. We bought the set from a retired drummer outside Philadelphia who originally bought the set new in the 60s. I have not played for 10 years and am undecided on what to do with them at this point. Unfortunately, I don’t have plans to play them anymore, but did enjoy my years doing so.

I am no expert in vintage drums, so I would very much appreciate if anyone can verify what I’ve researched. I would be interested in value & tips for restoration. If I were to sell, I’d rather they all stayed together as a complete set.

Here are the specifics.

Badges: all with Ludwig Keystone badge, no serial number

Finish: all with Black Diamond Sparkle – Not sure on this but it is the closest color/pattern I could find in the catalogs from the early 1960s timeframe. Actually looks a little green under artificial light. For years I called it my green Ludwig set because it seemed to have a green tint.

Drums

Snare: 14 1/2” x 6 1/2” dated stamped on inside FEB 8, 1963

Floor Tom: 16 1/2” x 21” high

Tom: 13 1/2” x 10” high

Bass Drum: 20” (with Rogers bass drum pedal- not sure if this pedal is original)

Cymbals – they seem to date to early 1960s but not sure.

20” crash with 1 3/16” avedis ziljian stamp (all solid letters)

14” hi-hat with 1 3/16” avedis zildjian stamp (all solid letters) Has a Speed King / WFL pedal.

22” ride with 1 3/4” avedis zildjian stamp (hollow letter Zildjian Co) – the ride has punched holes in it from the original owner who installed ‘sizzlers’.