Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 129.26096%

Ludwig Reinforcement Hoop Replacement?

I have a chopped Ludwig Standard 13" tom - the original owner sawed it in half - aaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!! If I can, I want to turn it into a 3" X 13" piccolo snare. The top edge is intact, all I need to do right now is saw the bottom, ragged edge to square and then put in a reinforcement ring (glue ring). I know that there's more to the art than this, but this is my first aim.

Does anyone know where to get a 1968-70 vintage Ludwig Standard glue ring for inside a 3 ply 13" drum?

I have spoken to a custom drum shop about making one, but things became more complex. I'm a newbie to this realm & I'm happy to find an old Ludwig ring to glue in myself, or to just have one made to my needed specs - without spending alot.

Any leads or thoughts? Help2

...but when he played on his drum, he made the stars explode....
Posted on 15 years ago

try searching kelleratthecore.com ( I think thats it ) . One of the companies affiliated with keller offers glued up re-rings, shells that they cut down for that purpose.

Good Luck

Posted on 15 years ago

Hey Lucky, Thanks for the tip. I've been checking out the Keller site with no solid leads yet, but I'll email them with a link to this thread & see what they say.

This is a phantom topic it seems, not alot to find online so far. I appreciate the reply.:cool:

Posted on 15 years ago

I have solved my Ludwig Reinforcement ring problem Clapping Happy2

I found a beater 13" Ludwig Standard tom shell on eba-bay-ba. It was totally stripped, badge and all, and the blue strata wrap was both faded and apparently scorched on one side.