Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 130.66388%

Looking for Gretsch snare lugs and...

First of all, I'm a newbie so be gentle.

I have the choice between buying a Gretsch 10 lug 6 x 14 COB USA shell vs a Brass USA (before it was chrome plated) 8 lug 5 x 14 new-old-stock shell. Both are mid-70's shells I think. I'm a Gretsch nut and can't wait to take on a project like this.

My prob is that, 1. I'm indecisive about which shell to start with so chime there and 2. the center to center measurement of the lug holes is 2 5/16th's inches and I can't find original or repop lugs in those sizes ANYWHERE on the net. Next, it looks from the triangle throw off holes that it is drilled for a lightning throw. I'd be interested to hear your opinions of these strainers as well as replacement suggestions that would be sweet and would fit without drilling.

I currently own a new classic 5 x 14 wood hoops and love it!

Just looking for something metal with a different sound.

Now, to go in a whole other direction, I really like the sound of the old (late 60's) Acros and wouldn't be opposed to jumping on a luddy project a well.

Opinions???? and THANKS for the insight!

Posted on 11 years ago

You may have to go with a tube lug. But, nothing wrong with a good Acro, either....

Posted on 11 years ago

Welcome to the forums. If you can't find help or the answer here, then it doesn't exist.

As far as the Gretsch COB shells go, they are awesome. The 10 luggers are great drums and very heavy when complete with cast hoops.

I noticed they sound a lot better as a listener and not the player. The overtones that are heard while playing are very faint when listening in the audience.

Word of advice, when you start with a bare shell and you have to purchase all of the parts, it's going to cost you a lot.

Shell: $60 - $80 (used)