Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 126.05428%

Leedy & Ludwig help- ID, dating, model, value?

Howdy-

I am an elementary school music teacher and found some vintage snare drums in a closet at our school and hope you can help me identify them.

-Leedy & Ludwig

Drum Shell- wood?

Finish- white plastic?

Badge- see pics

Dimensions- 13 x 15

Interior Finish- natural

Hardware config.- not sure what to tell you-I hope the pictures help

Strainer type- will the picture be of help?

Any defects- just dirty

You can find more high rez pics here: http://homepage.mac.com/mystro2b/mystro2bphotos/PhotoAlbum9.html

many thanks for any insight you can provide!

-mystro2b

Posted on 17 years ago

Id be interested in buying this leedy because I am putting together a players kit. Email me at [email]bentstraw@gmail.com[/email] so we can talk about this at length.

Harrison
Posted on 17 years ago

Also it wouldnt be worth as much as a say white marine pearl snare drum would be and since its a marching snare drum, they are worth less. I have seen drums like these sell for 40-50 on ebay. I am very interested in this drum though.Excited

Harrison
Posted on 17 years ago

The Leedy & Ludwig is definitely worth more than $35 DOH

Posted on 17 years ago

I have seen shells go for that much on ebay. I got 2 leedy shells from the 30's (a 16x16 and a 9x13) for 33.50!

Harrison
Posted on 17 years ago

Yes, this is a marching snare drum. You have what some people call the art deco style (beavertail) drum lugs on a 1950's drum.

The drum being 15" would not make it as desirable as a 14" drum.

The were called the "National Parade Drums" model.

The market for 15" drums in general is not that great. Your drum is in great shape and in most cases marching drums are worth more as parts then the drum itself.