Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 126.45511%

Kent Drum

Hello, I've been looking for a good sounding vintage kit for awhile but haven't found the right one yet. I'm also a college student so my budget is pretty low however I feel that if you just keep looking, the right kit will always pop up. I'm not necessarily looking for a collector's kit, just a drum set that will give me that warm vintage tone that only 60's and 70's drums can give you. I mostly need it to record and practice with. Anyways, I came across a 60's Kent kit, but don't know anything about the company. Does anybody have any information about Kent drums that could tell me if they're worth buying for a lower price? Also does anybody have any other 60's and 70's drum brand names that you could find drums at a cheaper price? The Ludwig, Slingerland, Rogers, and Gretsch kits are just too expensive. Thanks and just let me know.

Posted on 17 years ago

There's a fair amount of chit-chat here about Kent drums. Have a search of the forums and you should find it easily.

I started collecting Kent drums about 2 years ago. Not to have them sit in a closet, but to actively use them for recording and gigging. I don't have a complete kit yet (I'm still looking as well), but I now have 4 snares. What I've learned from actually owning/playing these drums and with the help of this wonderful forum is that the quality of the drums is not as consistent as the bigger manufacturers. You'll want to look over the kit very closely and make sure that the bearing edges are in good shape, seams are tight and hopefully the lugs are centered. If you're getting a snare with the kit, be prepared to replace the throwoff with a better one. They break easily and in some cases, disengage under heavy playing.