Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 129.86221%

Inlay question

I ordered some 3/4" inlay for some 50's Gretsch 22" hoops. The inlay I took out I measured (wrong I now know) to be 3/4". The nice inlay arrived today and I popped it in to see how it would look and fit. It's about 1/32" too narrow. The new inlay is exactly 3/4" as it should be. I measured it against the original strip I took out and sure enough.....the strips are just shy of 1 13/16" more than 1 25/32" but not quite 1 26/32".

Now I have no experience with this and I was thinking I'll just use the 3/4" strips and the cadillac green paint will just overlap the gooves a little. No, I think that would look aweful probably....what do you think?

I emailed PrecissionDrum a few minutes ago to see if they could custom cut me some more inlay at just a hair under 1 26/32" I'll see what they say.

If anyone here has been through this and come up with a good fix please let me know.

Gary

Posted on 12 years ago

Are you sure that`s not expansion room ?? 1/32" split between two edges is quite small !!

It`s a drum,.....Hit It !!

.....76/#XK9207 Phonic Sound Machine D454/D-505 snares !i
Posted on 12 years ago

If you want flush joints there, you gonna have to bevel back the edges or it`ll pop out if it expands !!

Posted on 12 years ago

Did not know inlay expanded. It seems like a lot to expand. The inlay that was in there is definately wider..........flatted out (expanded) over the years??

I only had experience with my late 50's Gretsch 20" hoops a couple of years ago when I took the inlay out of a damaged hoop and popped it right into a hoop I bought on eBay. The inlay just popped right into place and stayed there. I did glue it however to make sure it stayed in place. I guess that inlay was already expanded.....it came with the kit when it was bought new in 1960.