Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 125.85386%

Identify Gretsch Kit... I need some parts

Hey all,

First of all.... great info here.

Through doing searches in the forums and looking around the site I think I have at least identified the year of my Gretsch kit but I could be wrong.

Quick info: I was kinda forced into buying this kit for $200 to help a friend who was short on money. It came with garbage cymbals and stands. I am a long term guitar player and didn't really want the set but since I have it I thought, might as well try to learn to play it. So far I have changed the snare skin and purchased a sabian cymbal pack. Not the greatest but they will do until I determine if I'm a drummer.. lol.

I sent an email to Gretsch and this is what they sent back... only posting the sections that apply:

With two major fires at the Gretsch factories in the past, most of the

historical records were destroyed including any documents referencing

serial number details for drum production. Since these records are no

longer available, we are unable to provide detailed production years of

individual drums based on serial numbers.

To help date you Gretsch Drums take a close look at your logo badges on

your kit. You can use the following information to give you an idea

when your Gretsch drums were manufactured:

BADGE #1 1883 to 1971

The original Gretsch Round Badge design.

This was the first badge used on Gretsch drums going all the way back

to 1883. The badge was round with GRETSCH written across the top and

DRUM MAKERS SINCE 1883 along the bottom. The older version of the Round

Badge used a carpenter’s tack to attach the badge to the shells while

later version used the standard brass grommet to affix the badge. Final

production of Gretsch drums with the Round badge was in 1971

"I have the round badges"