Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 129.26096%

I need a little advice.

I am new to drum restoring. I purchased a 14x4 two piece NOB snare shell a few weeks ago on ebay. It seems to be in the 1920's era, but after lookng at catalogs, I am thinking that it is a circa 1914 Ludwig Universal.

I have three questions. There are 4 very, very small extra holes, can they be filled in any way? If I can't fill them, will it significantly reduce the value? How should I go about refinishing the shell? (When I bought it, it was covered in blue paint that I have already stripped)

Thanks!!!

(The extra holes can be seen in the picture.)

2 attachments
Posted on 15 years ago

Hi there - Cool project drum.

You could possibly have a welder fill in the holes, but I'd be very worried about damaging the thin shell with that much heat. I would personally just leave the holes since I doubt there's any way to completely hide the holes. Filling them in would still leave tiny spots where the nickel would be missing.

The holes do take away from the value of the drum, no question, but warping the shell or causing discoloration from intense heat would devalue it even more I think.

As for refinishing... polishing the shell is the only option I think. Re-chroming would devalue further, much like a vintage guitar which has been stripped and refinished.

It looks to me (2nd picture) like you could bring most of the shine back with some elbow grease and metal polish. Nothing abrasive though - Don't want to scratch the nickel.

FYI... I have a 1960's Ludwig Acrolite shell with the same extra hole pattern as your 1914 drum. Weird.

Vintage Snares Vintage Kits
Posted on 15 years ago