Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 126.85595%

I HATE my Gretsch RB Snare...please help!

Hey everyone, just re-posting this as I was hoping for some more feedback, but I think I posted it in the wrong sub-directory...

I have been collecting vintage drums for a few years now and have aquired a nice collection of all the major US Brands (Rogers, 2 Slingerlands, Leedy, Ludwig) as well as some nice new custom and higher end snares.

Recently I obtained a beautiful WMP 1960's 8 Lug, 4 point strainer 5 1/2 x 14 Snare complete with the sliver interior and paper tag. Cosmetically the drum is gorgeous, with minimal fading to the wrap, that has resulted in a slightly grayish tint instead of the ussual yellowing.

Now the bad part: I HATE the way it sounds! The snare came with fairly new Remo Ambassadors, that suprisingly didn't fit too tightly. (I know that is ussually an issue with the RB's). Just to be on the safe side, and to ensure the best sound I purchased new Aquarian American Vintage heads for the top and bottom (medium weight).

No matter what combination of heads I use, and so far no matter how I tune it it sounds like garbage!

It is the least sensitive drum I have ever played, and has an extremely boxy sound. The drum sounds like someone glued some snares to a cardboard box!

I have done research and know that not everyone loved Gretches snares, and that many players would use Gretsch kits with another makers snare. However there are tons of pics of the greats (Max, Art, Elvin, etc.) performing on these snares.

I find it hard to believe that this is just the way they sound. I am hoping there is some secret or at least some advice someone here can give me as to how to make this snare sing!