Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 129.86221%

I got a Slingerland Kit - Let me in the club!

Hello all!

I recently jointed the vintage club, grabbed a Slingerland kit (14,16,22). I'm new to drumming (i have a recording studio, usually play bass) and i must say that this kit has me excited to get learning.

Here are a couple photos. I don't know much about what happened to this kit previously, but it looks like it had once been painted (eek!) and then stripped and stained. It also looks like someone attached a tom mount to the bass drum, as well as the 14.

Is there a way to restore those holes? Should I not bother, or might it be a good idea to put mounts back on the drums?

Also, I have no clue what age the kit is, there are no badges and the only stamps inside say "Slingerland" and that's it. Beautiful maple interior with re-rings as you would expect.

Looking forward to some feedback, thanks!

Posted on 9 years ago

your kit was once a wrapped kit, the wrap has been removed. The outer wood ply is mahogany, yes the holes can be filled,Your kit is a 70's model. the floor tom leg mounts aren't original either.

Your drummers not much good is he!? What you need is someone that's as good as me. ! John Henry Bonham !!
Posted on 9 years ago

Oh, and yes, you're welcome to the club. Slingie's are the ugly stepchild of Ludwig's but still sound fabulous..

The greatest gift you can give your family and the world is a healthy you. - Joyce Meyer
Posted on 9 years ago

Welcome to the forum and the Slingerland club!!

One thing that has happened to your wonderful kit is the same I did to mine in 1979. Added the Pearl? dual tom mount. F'up 3 drums on that move. Anywho, here are some pics of the mount.

Creighton

3 attachments
Nothing special here but I like them.
Posted on 9 years ago