Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 126.85595%

Help/advice needed on Leedy/Wurlitzer Snare

Hello!

I recently bought this snare at an antique store and in spite of the research I've been doing I still have a few questions and I was hoping some of you here might have some answers or know where I could go for more info. Please be patient, as I've been playing drums for quite a while but I'm pretty new to vintage drums, especially ones this old. Thanks in advance!

Here's what I've figured out so far.

The drum is a 15" x 4" snare with 8 lugs.

The only marking anywhere on the drum is a "Wurlitzer Cincinnati Chicago" mark stamped on the top rim, and Leedy built drums for Wurlitzer.

Shell is probably nickel over brass, as a magnet won't stick to the shell, and the plating is way too clean to be chrome.

The 2 screw lugs place the drum as pre-1925.

Overall the drum looks very similar to a Leedy Utility model, but I can't find an exact match to my drum.

When I found the drum, it still had it's original calf heads, torn to pieces. The snare wires, throw off and butt, lugs, rods, hoops, and clips were all very rusted, while the shell was virtually spotless. The throw off had been detached from the shell and the screws long gone, just the wires were holding it on to the drum. The throw off had been repaired at some point, because the pin(s) holding the lever on had been replaced by a random piece of bent metal, perhaps an old skinny nail.

[IMG]http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v430/WinstonWolf359/DSCF2646.jpg[/IMG]

[IMG]http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v430/WinstonWolf359/DSCF2659.jpg[/IMG]

[IMG]http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v430/WinstonWolf359/DSCF2653.jpg[/IMG]

[IMG]http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v430/WinstonWolf359/DSCF2656.jpg[/IMG]

[IMG]http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v430/WinstonWolf359/DSCF2661.jpg[/IMG]