Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 128.65971%

Help with 1959-61 Singerland WMP Bass Drum

Hi guys - I apologize- this post is long, but I am pretty excited and could really use your expertise! When I was 15, my best friend gave me a bass drum that belonged to his grandfather. At the time, I payed no attention to what it was (typical teenager) and threw it on my kit as an extra kick for fun. It has sat in a closet at my parents house for 15 years. Anyway, I flew home this past week and dug it out of storage.

I am no expert, but based on the badge, I think I've got a Slingerland 20'' bass drum made sometime between 1959 and 1961. I am throwing around the idea of restoring this kick as best I can (my first real restoration project!) but wanted to get your thoughts on what might and might not be do-able.

As you will see from the pics below the drum is not in great shape: there are 4 extra holes on either side of the drum. My guess is that one pair (to the far right of the rail consolette) originally contained the cymbal mount. No clue what the other pair of holes are from. The original bass drum legs have been removed (the holes have been plugged sloppily by someone) and replaced with Rogers legs. The wrap is not cracked, looks to be in ok shape, and has mellowed nicely. Hardware also appears in good shape, but is in need of a cleaning. Oh and there is one mount of some-kind (not sure if its original or not) to the right of the rail consolette (does anyone have any clue what this is for? )