Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 128.86013%

Hello, newbie from North Carolina

Hello all,

Love the site, been reading a bunch but this is my first post. I have been playing drums for nearly 30 years now. I have had several great sets in those years consisting of a early 60's Gretsch, 66 Ludwigs and Slingerlands. Wish I had all of those sets today but they are long gone. My 7 year old daughter bought a set of electronic drums with her Christmas money and is showing potential, great to see. I just purchased a mid 80's Yamaha Recording Custom 14x6.5 seamless metal snare on Craigslist for $25. The guy didn't know what he was selling and I really didn't know what I purchased until it showed up. The chrome on the shell is in rough shape but based on my conversation with the drum manager at Yamaha, he said it is worth the investment to revive this great snare. I got lucky and purchased all new lugs for it on eBay, I think I purchased some of of the last OEM ones out there, Yamaha doesn't make them anymore. Anyway, just wanted to introduce myself and I look forward to posting and receiving lots of great info from you.

Rich

Waxhaw, NC

3 attachments
Posted on 14 years ago

Welcome Rich. It seems that you might have started another thread lamenting great kits that we let get away.

Enjoy the Yamaha snare and let us know about your other finds......but don't rub in the low prices you're paying.

Posted on 14 years ago