Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 126.05428%

Headphones While Drumming???

Hello. I am a rookie at drumming and I have seen/heard of drummers wearing headphones or ear buds when they play. What does that do? I tried it and to me I heard the important parts of the drums minus the ringing noise or anything like that. Is that the purpose or is there more?

You can call me Carter!
1980's Gretsch Red Rosewood
2000's Gretsch Catalina Birch
Zildjian/Paiste - Remo - Pro Mark/Vic Firth

Posted on 14 years ago

A common reason is because the drummer is playing to a click track, like a metronome. Sometimes you need to do that to be in sync with tracks that are recorded.

Posted on 14 years ago

From MastroSnare

A common reason is because the drummer is playing to a click track, like a metronome. Sometimes you need to do that to be in sync with tracks that are recorded.

Oh yes the metronome. I have a question. I bought an app for my iPhone... and it is a metronome. Do you believe that it is good enough (considering I am a rookie) or should I think about getting a real metronome. Or do I not even need one yet?

You can call me Carter!

Posted on 14 years ago

Your iphone app is fine. Never too soon to start.

Posted on 14 years ago

The sooner you play with a click, the better. It's not going away, and most studio recordings are cut to a click. (not all) If you want to play to a click with a live band practice/studio, you will need the isolation headphones. I love 'em. You basically only hear what is being pumped into your headphones. I like the Shure ear buds live, if I'm playing to a click. The click is your friend with perfect time, not your enemy.

My two cents

Rogers early Fullerton Blue Strata 22,13,16 w/brass Dynasonic