Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 126.05428%

Head choice

It costs a lot of money to experiment with heads now, and we know heads make a HUGE difference, so what would you use on a vintage Olympic mahogany kit used for old R&B/Motown exclusively?

Looking for a top n bottom combo that you would suggest on a 12,16,20.

Hit like you mean it!!
Posted on 5 years ago

I just put Remo Ambassador coated heads top and bottom on my 1968 Pearls. I've never used coated heads as resos before but man do they sound deep and full with lots of resonance and no unwanted overtones. I play a lot of Motown, soul and funk and it's the perfect sound.

Posted on 5 years ago

Vote #2 agreed with Lenny- coated Ambassadors for the warmth. Some guys would use the more 'open' smooth white as resos/ but I'd bet you'll love the coated as both/ and they'll look the part also.

Posted on 5 years ago

I'll also go with the above recommendations for coated Ambassadors top/bottom. They'll sound great! I will say that if you need a bit more warmth and depth, you can also go with coated Emperors top with Ambassador coated on the bottom. Makes a good combination, too!

-Mark

Posted on 5 years ago

I do like Ambs top n bottom but these are 100%mahog shells and figured they would sound different from say my Sonor beech kit that I love dearly.

Emps have always interested me but I shy away from 2 ply heads on birch or maple, but thought they might sound "old" on the mahogany?

Hit like you mean it!!
Posted on 5 years ago

Old school heads when possible nothing like them!

April 2nd 1969 scarfed pink champagne holly wood and 65/66 downbeat snare, and , supra same year very minty kit old pies
66/67 downbeat with canister
Super 400 small round knob
1967 super classic obp