Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 129.86221%

Gretsch Stop Sign restoration-help!!

Hi all, as you can possibly tell I'm new to the set and to the forum so I apologise now if this is the wrong place to ask this question or the wrong sort of thing for the forum.

I, like most drummers dream of owning a vintage Gretsch drum kit, I've currently got a renown that I've had for 10 years and adore it. Recently a kit came up for sale close to me. As I'm in the UK I don't tend to see many Gretsch project kits about there. I've been speaking to the seller for a while but I have no idea of the worth or the amount of work I would have to put in to get it looking beautiful again.

Here is a link to the eBay page,http://goo.gl/2rrnkG

I've negotiated on price but there is something stopping me going through with it.

Any advice?

Posted on 9 years ago

This is a 70's gretsch kit. Are you going to do the restoration work or someone else? With you not in the USA it of course is higher priced, get him down as cheap as you can on the price, get the color wrap you want and have a go at it.

Your drummers not much good is he!? What you need is someone that's as good as me. ! John Henry Bonham !!
Posted on 9 years ago

I was planning on doing the work myself, but I've never done anything like that. I think I'd be able to clean it up but not so sure about the wrapping. I'm not sure about the bearing edges yet. There are the internal stickers with serial numbers on both toms but not the bass drum.

In terms of price I've been able to get him down to £500, but not sure if thats a good deal or not.

Posted on 9 years ago