Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 125.65344%

Gretsch 1960s Snare value

Hi all, this is my first time posting. I was inspired today to find out how much my old snare is actually worth, the only value i've heard was as 300$ offer from a guy at the drum shop i went to to buy new parts to resore it. It is a 1960s, Gretsch snare, 8 lug, 4x14", with a maroon sparkle finish, the throw off lever is broken however which other than that it is in good condition. I really have no idea how much it would be worth, although i've seen pictures of similar drums online for prices up to 1500$. of course i know that the broken lever would detract from the price, nevertheless i'm interested in knowing what you all think.

1 attachments
Posted on 18 years ago

So, it is a 4" x14"? Can you verify that. It look deeper based on the picture.

That would make a world of difference on the value.

Please just double check with the head off, maybe I'm just seeing it on a funny angle.

David

Posted on 18 years ago

i remeasured it with the head off, it is 4"x14", your right the angle of the picture makes it seem alot deeper.

Posted on 18 years ago
Posted on 18 years ago

I'm having a hard time with the drum height on your drum. Based on the lugs etc. The distance from the badge and hoop. The height of the lug to the badge

I know you measured it! Please don't yell at me. Eye Ball

Here is a 4x14 Progressive Jazz Snare. Look at the smaller lugs and the size in relationship to the badge

[IMG]http://www.vintagesnaredrums.com/images/snare_gretsch/gretsch_60_progressive_jazz_bp_large_thumb.jpg[/IMG]

So that is why I'm confused about the height. Maybe your pictures are just throwing me off mentally and I can't get over it.