Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 125.85386%

Getting started buying and selling.

Hey all. Something's been on my mind and I just wanted to make some casual chit chat.

I'm very new to this whole world of vintage drums, but it seems to have two distinct, yet connected sides to it...collectables and historical preservation. I used to work in a comics and collectables store for a couple years, so I know a lot about the selling and trading of merchandise, but no one ever seemed to have an appreciation for the history associated with said merchandise the way people on this site do (I know, flattery will get me nowhere :o ).

Unlike my old job at the comic shop, there seems to be so much more involved in the buying, selling, and trading. Drum shops, pawn shops, e-bay, garage sales, and the list goes on. I know I may be stating the obvious, but I'm wondering if anyone can help point me in the right direction (perhaps through your own experience). Should I wait until I have some kind of major bankroll? What are some places and people to avoid. I know I can only recieve opinions, but they would be greatly appreciated.

This isn't just about money for me. It's about my love of history and especially the instrument. I just want to make sure my new world of collecting won't be over before it begins because of frustrations or failures.

Much love and thanks.

~Pants

"There is no spoon."

Posted on 18 years ago

My best deals have always come through word of mouth. So let people know you like drums and want to find drums to work on.

Word gets out and things might just appear. Also find little mom and pop music stores sometimes they still have things laying around.

Other then that I live by the motto "If you don't ask you don't get" so talk to people and visit music stores, sales, thrift stores etc..