Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 129.86221%

G-pa's Slingerland..where to start?

Hi all, I'm totally new to this. I've been wanting to clean up and use my grandfather's set that has been mostly in storage and unplayed since he died in 1987.

Where do I start? Any great resources on the web?

Thanks in advance.

-Christa

Posted on 9 years ago

This place IS THE BEST resource place you'll find. Start with some pictures of the kit. This to show the year, color and configuration of your kit. So everyone can see what you have. Then post any concerns and questions. Lots of options to clean and polish. Use the search function and read some of the threads. The W&A restoration thread in this section is a great start. John V is one of the best as are many others here. Pretty cool you have your Grandfathers drum kit!! Most of all have fun and enjoy them when your finished. Your the present caretaker!

Glenn.

Not a guru just havin fun with some old dusty drums.
Posted on 9 years ago

Also under the forum header you'll see 4 sub sections. Click on those headers for a drop down menu. These are 2 good ones. Once you learn to navigate the site it'll be easy.

http://www.vintagedrumguide.com/drcjw/articles.html

http://www.vintagedrumguide.com/

Glenn.

Not a guru just havin fun with some old dusty drums.
Posted on 9 years ago

you need to get a set of clamp on spurs for the bass drum pronto. so you can properly play it with out damaging it.

Your drummers not much good is he!? What you need is someone that's as good as me. ! John Henry Bonham !!
Posted on 9 years ago

That's a real nice kit of drums..you are one lucky grandson.. Looks like some spurs (Legs) on the rear hoop ? They will work better on the front hoop and keep it from damage by scraping on floors.

Cheers

John

'77 Slingerland 51N,Super Rock 24,18,14,13.. COW 8,10 Concert toms