Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 129.06054%

fixing bubbled-up inner ply

Can anyone offer a suggestion on fixing inner plys that have bubbled? My guess is to clamp a piece of wood on each side and slowly tighten. Should I get it wet? How slow to tighten? Or, is there a better method (if anything can be dont).

Posted on 16 years ago

Can you provide pictures of the problem? Sometimes, it's a simple fix...sometimes it's not.

"God is dead." -Nietzsche

"Nietzsche is dead." -God
Posted on 16 years ago

I am not a drum repairer!! I am not a craftsman!! I only offer this suggestion because I worked as a maintenance man at a school for a few years when I was in college. I watched our old woodshop guy repair delamentating or bubbling student work tables (not fine furniture) by splitting the bubbled veneer layer along the grain of the wood with a very fine xacto type razor knife and seperating it very slightly with the razor knife blade by twisting it just a tiny bit then squeezing in a little wood glue and clamping it much as you described. Again these were like art studio work tables that just need a flat surface, they were not fine furniture and the veneer layer was quite thin.

I have no idea if this would work for your situation. I have never done it but my bass drum has some bubbles in the inner plys and I have been debating trying this method on it. I purchased an old hoop to make clamp strips that will match the curve of the drum but I haven't been able to bring myself to go at this thing with a razor knife... I'm not sure I can or even should do it.

Not a Guru... just interested..
Posted on 16 years ago

If you need to get glue into hard to get at places, a syringe and hypo needle do a great job - the people you have to buy them from will look at you funny but it's an old furniture repairer's trick which works a treat.

Cheers,