Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 125.85386%

Fibes drum sets

Hi all,I'm new to this forum so first I will tell you I'v been drumming bfor 37 years in local bands in and around Nova Scotia Canada,I've owned many drum sets and love buying sets to try out or to repair,I've re-covered,painted, and stained a few drums and am still learning,every once and awhile I come across a drum set that is something I'm not familiar with(Trixon) or in this case Fibes,I've read abit about them and as a younger drummer I remember seeing them but I have no Idea if they are considered collectable in todays market.I am wondering if there is anyone who can answer a couple of questions,Aset may become available and from what I'm told there done in a velvet finish(I believe their called FIVEL)I have read that there's not many of these set around and that there made from fiberglass which I think would make them very collectable,now I have not seen the set but was wondering if I was to buy them is there a collectors market for them or should I refinish them and re sell.Thanks all,hope I put this in the right place,if not straighten me out,Thanks Jim.

Posted on 18 years ago

Fibes, for some reason, have never been as collectible as the larger American brands. That being said, I would urge against recovering any drum that doesn't need it, especially a Fibes set in a rare finish. I'd love to find a nice fibes set in jazz sizes in original condition. As a rule, re-covered drums bring half as much as sets in their original finish.

Posted on 18 years ago