Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 129.66180%

Custom MIJ

Hi All! I was inspired by all these posts on MIJ drums and all the repairs made by some members. Jonnistix your videos are really great. I happened upon a no-name snare a while back. Very thin Luan shell and the blue sparkle wrap fell right off when I removed the hoops and lugs for cleaning. As one of my first experiments on a drum,I made re-rings,cut the bearing edge and snare bed,filled all the holes from the lugs and throwoff,painted the inside with a Porch and floor enamel that looks like Rogers Gray in the Powertones,and applied a 3m wrap that I had left over from some kitchen cabs that I was doing a while back. It was quite the experience. A lot of time put in , but a labor of love. I am a carpenter, cabinet maker, but most of what I work with is square and flat. Working on something round is another whole thing.It sounds pretty good. Dark and woody.But doesn't want to tune up to high.Not perfect but a great learning experience.

Thanks for this Forum and all the great info. The shot of the plywood cutout was the template for the re-rings. Made of maple stock cut thin. I will take it apart tonight and get a pic of the inside paint job.

Cheers,Ed

Posted on 14 years ago

First of all, Thanks for the kind words and encouragement, Ed! Welcome

Great looking little snare you got there! This shell should have a really fat, woody sound low, and a ward, tight sound witha big strong crack when cranked a bit. Sounds like it's choking.