Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 129.46138%

buying complete or restoring?

I'm thinking about getting some Rogers holiday shells and building up from there, but I've never done any restoration projects before. Do you think it's worth it to restore it, or just buy a "complete" on the bay?

And this question can just be a general question pointed towards any drum restoration project.

Posted on 15 years ago

Buy a set. Keep it to minor issues like maybe some incorrect tension rods, but maintain a standard of excellence in what you buy in regards to conditon, and completeness, stay away from recut edges and rewraps.

Rogers Drums Big R era 1975-1984 Dating Guide.
http://www.vintagedrumforum.com/showthread.php?t=24048
Posted on 15 years ago

I like that. The standard of excellence. I was just wanting to restore some rogers because I saw some ebay listings for shells, and I really wanted the marine pearl finish. That's why I thought about restoring drums and playing them. But I really like how you bring up the standard of excellence. I want to hear other people's opinions.

Posted on 15 years ago

I agree. Buy a complete, matched set of vintage drums. You will never regret it. Get some drums with no extra holes -no alterations -no broken or compromised hardware -nothing re-wrapped, etc.

"Maintain a standard of excellence" -Couldn't have said it better!Burger Kin

"God is dead." -Nietzsche

"Nietzsche is dead." -God
Posted on 15 years ago

I don't know. There's just something cool about rebuilding a kit that's in pain. If you've never done it, maybe it's time to play. That's just my take. I love the idea of breathing new life into drums that others have burried. Very cool stuff.

Posted on 15 years ago

From mcjnic