Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 128.86013%

Best polish for nickel plating?

Hello fellow drum fans. I'm the new guy in town, but I've been playing for many years. I just started getting serious about collecting and restoring vintage drums.

Quick questions for you. What is your favorite polish or other resto technique for cleaning up nickel plated items?

I recently purchased a 1920's - 1930's Ludwig snare which was in excellent shape to begin with. I used Mothers metal polish on the rims, shell and hardware and it did a pretty good job of restoring the shine. There are still a few spots on the drum which are less than pristine looking. I obviously don't want to do anything to harm the finish and will in fact "leave it be" if it's too risky.

Also, do you use anything after the cleanup to coat the parts and keep them from getting nasty again? Waxes or other products?

Thanks - BD

Vintage Snares Vintage Kits
Posted on 19 years ago

Welcome to the forum! There is a lot of options for you and there is a variety of ways to clean chrome and nickel. Everyone has a method and if it works then go for it.

I use Flitz on my chrome and nickel. This is a hand polishing technique that works really well on both and they shine very nice. Nickel can be stained and is harder to clean then chrome and might take two applications. I always suggest doing it by hand first and if none of that works you can resort to a buffing wheel. That takes experience and can do more damage then good if not done correctly.

Here are a few other products that many restorers use for cleaning nickel and chrome.

Cape Cod cloths, Simichrome, Automotive Chrome cleaning prducts etc...