Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 125.85386%

Been around a while but, first post

OK, so I've been hovering around now for around 10 months, reading and absorbing.

Because we are a family of musicians (more on my wife's side than mine) a family friend asked whether or not our son would be interested in learning to play the drums. If he was interested, then, our friend said, he would be happy to give our boy his drums from when he was a teen (he's 55).

Because of my work in recording, I knew that there was the slightest chance that these drums may sound really nice. We were told that they weren't anything special, but something that Tyler could learn to play on and that's all that mattered.

This IS going somewhere,

When we went to pick them up, our friend was in the process of preparing to take an "extra" kick drum to the garbage dump. I stopped him, said NO WAY and that we'd take it with us to make some use of it.

That kick drum I'm still trying to find some info on it. I'll post pics later as I'm right in the middle of restoring it; the hoops are, well, hooped. It's lacking it's tom mount and spurs. Just the shell, hoops, torn skins and bdage are all thats left. It was made in England and called Capri. I still can't find any info on it!

The rest of the kick turned out to be a decent find. The other WMP kick turned out to be a 20" Slingerland with copper cloud badge and cigar lugs. The snare is a Leedy Broadway Dual (full dress - it's in the photo gallery WMP with red and green dress 1937) We also have an older Premier snare (I think a 2000 or something) but it was converted into a floor tom and so is missing basically everything.

Alright, I think I've rambled on long enough. I do have one photo to upload, will take/upload more later.

LOVE THIS SITE

1 attachments
Posted on 15 years ago