Oh man... I finally realize that what my ears have told me for years is actually accurate..... I'm not crazy!

I started playing drums about 15 years ago on a set of Sunlite Challenge... Not vintage, not interesting. Typical decent Taiwan starters... I tried many a head and I couldn't get it to sound or tune right... Especially on that 13" tom.. every head had a wrinkle somewhere that wouldn't come out. I finally put some ATTACK heads on it, thinking that if it's going to sound crummy, it may as well do it on a budget... But oddly enough, it sounded good with the Attacks... So I kept looking around and Ludwig's Weather Master head had a similar build with heavier films, so I tried those... They worked too. After that, I've been a die hard Ludwig head guy...

I now have a set of Ludwigs (classic maple, 10 years old)..... and I've always used the Ludwig heads on them.. I love the toms sustains and rolls, and they are just plain durable. At the time they used 10mil plys on the heavy 1 ply... Everyone else's thickest 1 ply was 7.5mil... That's since changed. Anything else I've put on them didn't quite "open up" as well.

As I posted earlier, I got this Sonor set not so long ago... I went with Remos for it, and it worked well... I figured, hey, they came with those new, may as well try it. I was reading a review from the era they were made... and I was shocked to see.....

[COLOR="Red"]As I've said before, all Sonor wood shells are made deliberately slightly undersize relative to head diameter This affords a timpani-type head seating when the counter hoop, with the head collar inside it, doesn't touch the shell, so I feel it gives a clearer sound. This way the only head contact point becomes the bearing edge which, as I said, is very slight.[/COLOR]