Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 128.05846%

A few Ludwig questions from a noobie

Hi All,

I've got a 5 piece silver sparkle 1971 Ludwig kit that I acquired used (and cheaply) about 25 years ago. It was pretty raggedy already then, and I'm not a drummer by trade, so I set it up in my basement but never did much with it. Lately I've had an opportunity to play a little more, and have decided to fix them up. I don't think they're worth restoring to mint condition, but I would like to make the set complete and whole again. And I have enough appreciation for vintage things in general that I'd like to get them as close to original as possible, even if that's just in "good" rather than "flawless" condition. I've been lurking on this forum a bit and have found lots of useful info on cleaning up and basic restoration already, and for that I thank everyone.

I've been scouring eBay and Craigslist for the parts I need (and think I need), and have picked up a few useful hardware and parts items. But there are a few things that seem to be a little harder to find, and I'm wondering if there might be reasonable replacements I could use that wouldn't make any noticeable difference in the look or sound of the drums.

So, my questions: