Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 130.66388%

70's Ludwig kit restoration ideas needed

Here are a few pics of a Ludwig kit I just received. I bought these drums to restore and keep, so they aren’t going anywhere. There is significant damage to the bass drum (two holes) and the wrap is pretty much being held on the 3 Champagne drums by the lugs (completely loose). The drums are all in-round and the edges look good. One of the bass drum hoops has a flat spot (out of round), but the inlays are perfect. The WMP FT is about as good as it gets for a played drum (easy 9.5). Serial #’s are 94xxxx to 13xxxxx (76 to 78?)

I am thinking out loud here… Due to the extra holes in the bass drum, maybe try to match the WMP FT? Can it be done? I have no experience with WMP and it’s hard to tell if anything out there will be the right match. It looks very brite and very white – I don’t see any fading or yellowing at all.

Any thoughts/ideas/suggestions would be appreciated. Like I said, I am keeping these and they will be gigged, hard.

1976 Ludwig SBP Big Beats
1979/83 Tama Superstar Frankenkit
Modern Ludwig Black Beauty
1950's WFL 8X15 Snare
Posted on 12 years ago

If the wrap on the PCS is not glued down you could take thee 3 drums and remove the wrap and save it incase you ever wanted to restore them plug the 2 bass drum holes and rewrap without glue the other 3 drums in WMP from presicion they have a good match wrap.... or you can buy a PCS floor tom and sell the wmp FT.... lots of choices....

Posted on 12 years ago

Thanks for the reply, Mike.

The Champagne wrap is actually in decent condition, except for the two holes (obviously).

1950's WFL 8X15 Snare
Posted on 12 years ago