Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 129.86221%

60's Gretsch Snare

Hello! This is my first time posting! I have been visiting the site for quite some time but finally today decided to join so I could learn as much as possible from you all! Glad to be here!

I just picked up a 60's Gretsch white marine pearl (6 lug) snare drum. The shell is in great shape! Slightly discolored but not bad at all for a drum this old. It is missing the round badge. Silver inside. It does not have a Gretsch paper inside. I don't even see a spot where there was a paper possibly. No date stamps of any kind. The "Response-O" snare is there and has lots of life. All the hardware came with it in a plastic bag. The lugs are the little "eyelet" lugs. (if they are called something else please tell me) The throw off is broken but fixable I was told. The hoops need to either be replaced or fixed. The bottom hoop is bent just enough where you don't want to put it on the drum as is. Any recommendations on how to go about getting the hoops fixed. Should I fix them or just get new used vintage ones? I can not find any pics online of any old gretsch drums like this. I see Kent drums that have similar hardware/lugs but no Gretsch. Any thoughts or ideas about my new project? Thanks!

Posted on 14 years ago

Welcome to the VDF, great to have you with us!, congrats on your gretsch snare drum also! could you post some pics of the questions your asking, It will help us all a lot!

Your drummers not much good is he!? What you need is someone that's as good as me. ! John Henry Bonham !!
Posted on 14 years ago