Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 128.86013%

59 Radio King snare head replacing

I really need some help from the Slingerland experts. Total newbie trying to replace the heads on a 59 RK snare w/clamshell strainer. What is the correct way to replace the snare side head ? I seem to end up with a wrinkle @ the snare bed edge. Is their a secret Slingerland lug tightening pattern? Thanks in advance!

Posted on 14 years ago

Todd, are you sure your shell is level??, you can check it with a level device, there's no secret to the tuning of these rk's, also will the head fit the shell with out any binding? can you rotate the head freely on the shell? check both of these things and give us an update, by the way their are a couple of us from good ole NC here on the forum, good to have you with us, mark Yes Sir

Your drummers not much good is he!? What you need is someone that's as good as me. ! John Henry Bonham !!
Posted on 14 years ago

From Todddilema

I really need some help from the Slingerland experts. Total newbie trying to replace the heads on a 59 RK snare w/clamshell strainer. What is the correct way to replace the snare side head ? I seem to end up with a wrinkle @ the snare bed edge. Is their a secret Slingerland lug tightening pattern? Thanks in advance!

I worked in both the factory and office for 16 years

This is a very common problem becuase you have a scooped snare bed.

At the time the drum was made many people used calf,,,The Sling, made plastic heads but they had a short collar so as you put on the drum and tightened it , it would quickly disappear.

With the deeper collar heads you can do this...Dont worry about this...as you tighen the head in time it waill deminish and most of the time sound is never hampered.

Posted on 14 years ago