Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 130.06263%

1940's Slingerland Radio King

Hi all! I just purchased a WMP Radio King kit. I'm trying to clean it up a bit and have been working on rust removal and I'm going to re paint the drum Hoop. It was badly peeling. It is the standard black paint with the WMP wrap. I was thinking it would look pretty to sand it down and stain it a rosewood color instead of black. My question is should I, or do I keep it black to give it it's original appearance?

I've been drumming for 25 years and own a 1966 Rogers silver sparkle kit. But trying to somewhat restore vintage drums is new to me.

I'll have more questions as I begin to embark on this project and would appreciate any input.

I was disappointed when the drums arrived that the bass drum and snare both have significant cracks in the wrap. But it still looks good considering. Another disappointment was to discover the modification that some of the past owners decided to try throughout the years. Biggest problem for me is they have the bass drum badge facing the ground. So the bass drum is upside down. Looks like the legs and the old school tom mounting mechanism holes were drilled and installed on the wrong end.. possibly trying to avoid the crack in the wrap from being visible. But I'd rather have the badge on top where it's supposed to be.. I'll be adding pictures as I go, but this was the kit before I began cleaning it up:

http://i37.photobucket.com/albums/e53/bsh06/00o0o_jco0gI53dUV_600x450.jpg

Thanks all!!

Posted on 10 years ago