Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 130.26305%

16" 7 lug hoop?!

Hey everyone!

I'm new to the Vintage drum forum. Figured this would be the best place for me to ask this question.

I have an old 68' (possibly earlier) Pearl Red Glass Glitter Deluxe kit. 14x22 bass, 9x13 tom, 16x16 floor tom, and a 5.5x14 snare matching. It has a few pieces missing. The most unusual thing I've seen from this kit is that is has a 16in Floor tom with 7 lugs. (That's right 7 lugs.) Never thought in my life I'd ever see it but I guess they had to make one.... Big problem is I've yet to have found one for sale. I have one for the batter side. But the resonant side is missing. I'm also looking for screws to fit in the old floor tom leg brackets, one silver script badge, and a matching bass hoop. Those are missing as well.

Anyone got any ideas?

Posted on 13 years ago

Best bet for now is to locate a 16" single-flange hoop and some rim hooks,like from a 50's marching drum.Then again-Mikey 777 might have one.I had a 7-lug drum but sold it quick.Was in bad shape,not worth the effort.

Posted on 13 years ago

I have a similar floor tom. Did not count the lug when I bought it. The top and bottom rimes had two slightly different inside diameters as well. QC was not up to snuff that day!! Kind of a crappy drum, but the wrap matches and old MIJ kit I already have. Getting a single flanged rim would likely cost more than the drum is worth, but thats your call.

Posted on 13 years ago