Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 133.26931%

Zildjian Scimitar Ride

Hi, guys!

I've googled a bit about these ride cymbals but, haven't found out a lot. I know that ZBT's were the successors and that most reviews were not good. Some liked the 20 inch rides but, most thought they were lower end at the very least. I am no expert at anything but, I know a lot of you are very knowledgeable "cymbalologists". Thanks in advance, everyone.

Brian

Just a drummer who loves all things about vintage drums! Nothing more, nothing less.
Posted on 8 years ago

I owned hi hats in that line back in the 90s. I bought them brand new in about 1995 i believe. That line was the budget Zildjian cymbals throughout most of the 90s.

-Justin

"People might look at you a bit funny, but it's okay. Artists are allowed to be a bit different."- Bob Ross

"After silence, that which comes closest to expressing the inexpressible is music..." - Aldous Huxley
Posted on 8 years ago

I bought a (new) Scimitar cymbal pack back in about 1987. I sold/gave all away in time, but kept the ride cymbal. **This is FIRST generation Scimitar BTW**

I used that ride cymbal for about 21 years before I got started in this "hobby".

I still have it as well - will eventually pass it down to my son.

I actually recorded with it for 2 albums, and it sounded great. It is a simple, dry, pingy cymbal with a fabulous clear and cutting bell.

I would probably prefer it to a ZBT ride and also use it before a Sabian B8.

$ Value? check ebay completed.

Sonic value? Much better than most would think.

Note: I speak of the first generation Scimitar - and not of the "Scimitar Bronze" or any other form of Scimitar Zildjian put out there.

I had a great day! Instead of sleeping in and wasting the day, I got up at 8 and I had all my slacking done by noon!

2Timothy1:7
Posted on 8 years ago