Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 133.26931%

What is this cymbal?

I feel like a newbie here, because I believe this is my first post in the Vintage Cymbals threads. Here goes...

I found this dirty, ugly cymbal in a local used instrument shop. Not knowing anything about it, but liking its trashy effect, I shelled out the $5 for it. The stamped logo reads "Zyn, Made in England". It's a fairly thin 13" drilled for only 4 rivets, and the original rivets are intact.

My questions are: How old? Who made Zyn? Could this have been intended as a sizzle High Hat cymbal? Any info would be appreciated.

[Attachment: 97419] [Attachment: 97420]

Mike

2 attachments
-No Guru... still learning more every day-
Posted on 8 years ago

Zyn were cheap british cymbals in the 50s and 60s, AFAIK.

Later, they moved on to higher quality alloys and manufacturing as Super Zyns, and those were pretty good. I have one "5 star" Super Zyn crash. It's not very sensitive, but it's very good in louder setting. Very dark, K-like.

Sysl krysu nenahradi!

-196?-72 6ply White Oyster Amati
-1960s 3ply Red Sparkle Amati
- Zildjian, Paiste, Zyn, Istanbul

http://bandzone.cz/blueswan
Posted on 8 years ago

Gilnar,

Thanks for the info. I thought it might be a very cheap or entry-level cymbal, but it's still interesting. One more sound effect in my cymbal arsenal.

Mike

-No Guru... still learning more every day-
Posted on 8 years ago

Ringo actually used a super Zyn for Beatles stuff

Posted on 8 years ago

From Wikki!

Zyn cymbals were introduced by Premier in 1950 and marketed as an affordable cymbal. They were made of nickel-silver alloy and could be ordered with 'Olympic' drum kits. Pairs of 'Heavy' Zyn cymbals were available for concert music.