Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 125.85386%

Rogers Dynasonic aid needed

Hello all, New to the site, but have enjoyed it all thus far. I'd like some help with my Dynasonic, probably will hear from Ploughman or TommyP. I have a big badge COB that I bought w/ my Londoner set in late 70's. Now, my beard is gray by now, and I've been playing this set since a kid, but being totally self taught with zero instruction, I realize I know less than most of you rookies. To my aggrivation, I have never gotten this drum to sound good to me, and have never realized it's potential I think. To me, no matter what I do, the drum sounds 'mushy' and soft, and has waayy too much ring. Just no real 'crack'. I will locate videos online of fellow Rogers players, and none of those guys seem to have this problem, and most show no muffling either. I am currently using Hazy 300 on the bottom, and Genera dry vented on top. I am also sure that my snares are old and worn, and am in the process of ordering some new Puresounds. Just any advice from you experts would be much appreciated. Attached is a link to a video piece on MySpace that compares 3 Rogers sets, and they all sound so wonderful. I would just love to be able to get this out of my set. Thanks.

http://groups.myspace.com/index.cfm?fuseaction=groups.groupProfile&groupID=105849960

Posted on 15 years ago

Patience my friend... lots of Dyna-mic talk out here. You'll get some feedback from somebody who fought the same battle for sure.

I fairly recently rebuilt a Dyna (having never touched one before) for a former professional drummer who had put it out to pasture in the garage. I followed Tommyp's Dyna tuning guide.. let me see if I can find the link to that.

Not a Guru... just interested..
Posted on 15 years ago