Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 132.66806%

Paiste Giant Beat 24" Inch Question

Hi all.

I'm thinking of picking up a paiste giant beat 24" and I like wash and medium ping )if that even makes sense...I'm new to cymbal tech.

What is a good range of weight for what I like? I KNOW I don't want heavy "ping" and looking for a classic vintage wash w/crash and defined ride sounds w/decent bell.

I just had a drum shop tell me they have one weighing 3175.1468 grams and another who has one for something like 2850.

Those are big diffences..

Posted on 12 years ago

BUMP!!

Is this thing on? ...anyone...

tumbleweeds in this thread i tell yaCooked Egg

Posted on 12 years ago

Sometimes it takes a while to get responses here on this thread. It all depends on the odds of it being very interesting or it just may be a strange timing. It's really completely random. If you have not yet figured out this mystery, try searching on Youtube for Terry Keating. His channel is called Bonzoleum. He is not employed or endorsed by Paiste, and is not officially an expert by any proclamation. However, he knows Paiste very well and is very well knowledgeable of Giant Beats. Now - know that sometimes it takes him time to reply (contact him through messaging on Youtube with a Youtube ID) but he will eventually get back to you with very good info and is a real nice guy.

Don't overlook the 404 "Ride" models (20"). They are a favorite of his, and I would agree that that is very underrated ride cymbal. That one would have both a good ping and wash.

Best Blessings,

John

I had a great day! Instead of sleeping in and wasting the day, I got up at 8 and I had all my slacking done by noon!

2Timothy1:7
Posted on 12 years ago

[ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mj1kYw_q6BE&list=UUcQ6W4kknIU4SqXupJUCmYg&index=2&feature=plcp[/ame]