Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 131.86639%

Old Ludwig Drums/Cymbals

Hi fellow musicians, I have a 10-inch cymbal (stamped Ludwig) that is in very good condition. Can anyone tell me if Ludwig actually made cymbals?

Regards,

Peter A

Posted on 14 years ago

Ludwig sold cymbals made for them by Paiste in the 60's with their drumsets...

Its better to have people think you're an idiot, than to open your mouth and prove them wrong, unless you doubt yourself then speak away....
Posted on 14 years ago

From backbeatkeeper

Ludwig sold cymbals made for them by Paiste in the 60's with their drumsets...

BBk<< I 2nd that motion!!

Your drummers not much good is he!? What you need is someone that's as good as me. ! John Henry Bonham !!
Posted on 14 years ago

Thanks for that, but, this cymbal is actually stamped (engraved) with the Ludwig insignia. The cymbal belongs to an old Ludwig & Ludwig drum set that has a six inch x 23 1/2 inch bass drum and a 14 x 3 inch snare drum. Maybe this extra info can identify the age of the cymbal and the drums.

Posted on 14 years ago

Ludwig cymbals have an autograph beneath them that is Paiste, like this Some maybe different. Do the drums say just Ludwig & Ludwig? or do they also say Ludwig above the vent hole. Chicago or Elkhart, Indiana? Your cymbal maybe from the early 30's, pics of the cymbal stamp and the drums would help.

Its better to have people think you're an idiot, than to open your mouth and prove them wrong, unless you doubt yourself then speak away....
Posted on 14 years ago

Thank you for your info. Great to tap into your knowledge base.

Have attached a photo of the various parts of the set that I have.

Any idea of their value?

Thanks again.

Posted on 14 years ago