Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 131.86639%

More Questions On Ludwig Tone Controls

I've been shopping that auction site for something period for a 1970 Standard tom. I've seen that the knobs come in 1" & in 3/4" sizes. Is that a "tell" on the year that the muff was made?

Also, I see many marketed as "vintage" that look no different from what's available now new, for less than the so-called "vintage" asking prices.

Some have a nylon washer where the knob meets the shell, is that a "model year" indicator? - - My '71 Standard snare came to me with a metal washer there - I don't know if that was factory issue or not.

Lastly, on some that I see being sold as "New/Old Stock" - they have bar codes on the Ludwig label. From this info on the history of barcodes:

http://inventors.about.com/library/inventors/blbar_code.htm

It seems unlikely that such an item could be older than mid-70s, and most likely later, in consideration of UPC symbols not being as prominently used on non-grocery items until the end of that decade. But, the finer points of barcodes are not my passion - heh heh

Does the color of the felt (grey / black / other) give any indication?

Oy! So MaNy QuEsTiOnS?????????

...but when he played on his drum, he made the stars explode....
Posted on 15 years ago

hmmmmm..... and it seems no answers.

My '71 Ludwig Standard snare has the 3/4" knob, so I guess that's typical for that age range.

Since I keep seeing these so-called "vintage" tone controls selling for upwards of $30+, mostly for 1" knobs with nylon washers, looking flawlessly new and no different than those on the market today in 2009, I can't see the point of paying that much more for a muff whose age is so ambiguous; regardless of what the eBoy's description says.