Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 132.66806%

Istanbul Flat Ride

Picked up this cymbal yesterday. I did some quick surfing and didn't see anything just like it ... But I am a total novice on Istanbul.

A couple things different from other cymbals I found online ...

- On top: Just "Istanbul ... handmade cymbals from Turkey" ... no line or series like all their current offerings have

- Under the bell: small "Helmet" and "Agop" appear factory printed but slightly different fonts ... and weight (might be handwritten by someone who weighed it later??? hard to tell) another different script

- Flat Ride and Size appears ink stamped ... kind of like they did on hollow logo Zildjians ... but on the bottom

- Two Rivets

There is a stamp too that I neglected to photo (Doh!) ... it takes me forever to email pics from my phone to my computer to upload (yeah I need to get a camera) ... I'll try to get that posted today.

It sounds awesome ... sizzles forever and a great undertone to the wash ... left hand ride city.

Hoping to get some info on age/etc. and on Istanbul in general. Thanks!

Posted on 11 years ago

Here's the stamp:

Posted on 11 years ago

$90?

Sounds like a deal!

"Always make sure your front bottom BD lugs clear the ground!"
Posted on 11 years ago

Actually haggled down some from there ... it is a Turkish cymbal after all Cool Dude.

Posted on 11 years ago

You have a "pre split" Istanbul cymbal signed on the bottom by Mehmet and Agop (the principals of the Istanbul cymbal company). The company later split into two separate companies.

Wikipedia has a simple summary (with dates) which should do:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Istanbul_cymbals

Both companies still exist and are doing fine. Mehmet still runs Istanbul Mehmet, and Agop's two sons run the Istanbul Agop company.