Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 132.26722%

How can I identify a crash/ride?

Hello all,

I'm looking for a vintage 60s Zildjian 18" crash/ride, and eBay seems to be the best option (or one of them) for finding vintage cymbals. Either this cymbal is extremely rare, or the people putting the cymbals up for sale don't know how to properly identify it. I'm seeing a ton of 18" crash cymbals and some rides, but no crash/rides. Is it possible that some of these so-called "crash" cymbals are crash/rides? The only identifying marks are the stamp, but they don't have the cymbal type on the stamp. How do you know what type of cymbal it is? Please excuse my ignorance - I'm fairly new to drumming and this is my first venture into buying cymbals, so I'm trying to learn as much as I can. Thanks!

Posted on 13 years ago

[COLOR="Green"]Wasn't it Tony Williams who once, upon being asked if his (whatever) cymbal was a crash or a ride, replied :

"a cymbal...is a cymbal"

???

I think so.

Not being a wiseass, here. You want an 18" Avedis which works as well as a crash as it does a ride. The 80's ones certainly still have their labels. But most pre-mid 70's ones were stamped neither; or if they were, those logos are long gone.

So...OK, you have the cymbal, the stamp to ID its era.

You have to ask about the weight, next.

A thin 18" will be around...1200g. This would be a thin crash. You couldn't ride it, it'd be hella washy and lose the stick tic fast.

A heavy 18" would be 1800g. This is a heavy cymbal....it'd make a lousy ride, probably, except for a headbanger....it'd be clangy and pingy. It likely wouldn't make much of a good crash either, but maybe as a rock crash it'd be OK. Only Turkish handmades can pull off a heavy 18" and make it sound good, IMHO.