Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 133.46973%

Drum Repair....

Good Morning,

This is my first post on this great website. I started playing when I was 18 years old. I started on a set of Coronets, I bought for 50.00 bucks. I worked my way up to a classic set from the 40's, Ludwig...with solid wood rims on the double bass drums. I so miss that kit.

I have not played for over 20 years. I found a classic set of Coronets, from the 60's. Yes, I'm aware of the fact their a stensil kit from Pearl.

I was wondering, could I do some work to the drum it self, to thicken the body structure, to get a more deeper, and fuller sound?

Thanks...Donny

Posted on 12 years ago

What is the interior finish on the drums? Perhaps a tung oil rub if they are bare wood would help?

Or you could glue shag carpet inside them.......LoLoLoLo

Posted on 12 years ago

From DonnyT

Good Morning,This is my first post on this great website. I started playing when I was 18 years old. I started on a set of Coronets, I bought for 50.00 bucks. I worked my way up to a classic set from the 40's, Ludwig...with solid wood rims on the double bass drums. I so miss that kit.I have not played for over 20 years. I found a classic set of Coronets, from the 60's. Yes, I'm aware of the fact their a stensil kit from Pearl.I was wondering, could I do some work to the drum it self, to thicken the body structure, to get a more deeper, and fuller sound?Thanks...Donny

Those stencil kits can be made to sound quite good. Throw some good heads on and tune them up right and you will be good to go. There are some gurus on here that are big into these kits. They may be able to help out more.

Posted on 12 years ago