Only Admins can see this message.
Data Transition still in progress. Some functionality may be limited until the process is complete.
Processing Attachment, Gallery - 133.46973%

50s Avedis large stamp - what do you think?

Hi all,

I am new to this forum - so first of all: Hey everybody!

I am a jazz drummer, who just recently came back to drumming after 15 years of a creative break. Before I was mostly playing rock, now I discovered Jazz for myself and also the beautiful and unique sound of the vintage cymbals.

Most of the threads here are about stamp/age-identifaction, this one is about the sound! First of all, my setup:

- Gretsch Cataline Jazz Club

- Ludwig supraphonic (70"s)

- 60s Avedis 15" Hi-Hats (890/910g)

- 50' Avedis 18" Crash/Ride (1270g)

- 50s ssa Avedis 20" Crash/Ride (1810g)

- 50"s Avedis 20" large stamp (1940g)

- 50's Avedis 22" Trixon ssa (2570g)

- New Constantinople 20" (1940g)

This is about the 50's large stamp, that I got fairly cheap for 120 Euro (considering that the prices in Germany are almost double as high than in the US).

I turned this cymbal into a sizzle, drilling three holes. I am just not sure about the sound, so I need some feedback from all of you. I am quite new to jazz and cymbalholism, so I am still on a learning curve.

To my opinion all of those Avedis have a different sound characteristic and I guess it has something to do with the progresses and changes in manufacturing in the 50s and 60s. It's not easy to find a real germ to my opinion...

So here is a soundfile and I am curious about your opinion. Btw. I love the sound of that constantiople! I guess if I had the money I would go for the old K's, but there are just out of reach for me.

Here is a soundfile of the 20" Avedis I was talking about:

https://soundcloud.com/jochen-resch/20-50s-avedis-sizzle-ride-lsiii-solo-pt1wav

Please dont judge my playing...)

I also attached some pics.

Thanks a lot!!!!

2 attachments
Posted on 7 years ago

From jojo_berlin