Vintage Drum Forum the best vintage drum forum on the Internet - Vintage Drum History - Vintage Drum Questions

Go Back   Vintage Drum Forum > Vintage Drums

Old 05-13-2017, 04:31 PM

Default Vintage Ludwig with unaligned serial number

Hi Out there,

Wondering if anyone has come across serial numbers on a ludwig snare that looks like attached pics. I believe this is a 1964, but find the serial number strange.

Any thoughts out there.

Thx, happy to be with the forum!!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1795.jpg
Views:	134
Size:	72.1 KB
ID:	109570   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1804.jpg
Views:	96
Size:	67.8 KB
ID:	109571   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1805.jpg
Views:	87
Size:	70.0 KB
ID:	109572  
Old 05-13-2017, 05:14 PM
Advanced Member

Default Re: Vintage Ludwig with unaligned serial number

I have never seen this on a Ludwig snare, but being a manufacturing engineer I have seen this quite a bit on punching operations that have a sequencing numbering process where the stroke of the punch press machine misaligns the sequenced numbers during the stamping process. Very similar to the old style mileage counters we had on our bicycles that attached to the front fork. Very bizarre to see on something like this though.
Old 05-13-2017, 05:17 PM
Vintage Drum Guru

Wow, I've never seen one quite like that. The badges were mechanically stamped by the company that produced the badges for Ludwig but it's hard to believe that such a machine could get that out of whack.

There are repro keystone badges offered for sale. They have the "circle R" trademark but lack serial numbers. Could it be possible this is one of those that someone tried to add a serial number to? If so they really made a mess of things, to the point of, if it were me, I'd just toss it in the trash and try again.