Vintage Drum Forum the best vintage drum forum on the Internet - Vintage Drum History - Vintage Drum Questions

Go Back   Vintage Drum Forum > Vintage Drums

Old 01-24-2020, 02:17 PM

Default Vintage Ludwig Stand Rivets

I was wondering if anyone has any insight as to how to re-rivet my wobbly Ludwig snare, hi-hat, and cymbal stands. They’re the 1400 and 1123 style from the sixties.
Old 01-24-2020, 11:02 PM
Contributing Member

Default Re: Vintage Ludwig Stand Rivets

I have no experience in this, but I would take it to a good machine shop and get their advice.
Old 01-24-2020, 11:28 PM
Vintage Drum Guru

Quote:
Originally Posted by kdg View Post
I have no experience in this, but I would take it to a good machine shop and get their advice.
I would agree with this! The biggest issue is flaring new rivets. You need a proper tool to be able to flare solid rivets, which I think is the style on these stands.

-Mark
Old 01-25-2020, 11:14 AM
Advanced Member

You don't need new rivets, all you need is a solidly mounted vise with a flat surface & a ball peen hammer. Put the flat side down on the vise & whack the rivet a few times until it's tight again. I've done this a lot, works every time.
Old 01-25-2020, 01:41 PM
Vintage Drum Guru

Quote:
Originally Posted by frantic freddie View Post
You don't need new rivets, all you need is a solidly mounted vise with a flat surface & a ball peen hammer. Put the flat side down on the vise & whack the rivet a few times until it's tight again. I've done this a lot, works every time.
Very true! If the original rivets are just a bit loose, this will certainly work...and something I would certainly try myself.

-Mark
Old 01-25-2020, 02:57 PM
Vintage Drum Guru

Quote:
Originally Posted by frantic freddie View Post

This was my first thought but I've never actually done it. Definitely seems like the way to go...
Old 01-26-2020, 04:15 PM
Vintage Drum Guru