Old 04-06-2016, 04:33 PM

Default Roger's Londoner Questions
I'm relatively new to Roger's drums, and am constantly learning. There's a beautiful looking kit for sale in my area, looks to be a five-piece Roger's Londoner kit in a gold sparkle wrap (not sure exactly what wrap, not sure of the era) with Dayton Holiday shells. I know this finish is pretty rare, and it looks to be in excellent condition, so I'm wondering what I should be looking for to make sure it's all original (things like where the seems should be, and any other insider tips would be greatly appreciated, as well as what hardware would be correct inside and out).

Again, I would love some expert advice on that matter so I can make sure I'm getting the real deal, and of course to learn more about vintage Roger's overall. I've included pictures, and the asking price is $1,200. Please let me know if this seems legit and like a good buy, as well as any further questions to ask the seller/things to look for when inspecting the kit.

Thanks!
Attached Thumbnails
Old 04-06-2016, 06:05 PM

Default Re: Roger's Londoner Questions
From what I can see from your pictures everything looks correct. The serial number you posted makes that drum from 1968. The finish is "Gold Sparkle Pearl" and was available in 1968. Not sure it is really "rare", but it was one of the less popular finishes.

BASIC things to look for:
  1. the serial numbers on BD, FT, MT(s) should all be numerically close . . . but close is within 10,000 or so of each other (note: this is not always an "etched in stone" rule, but should probably be on this kit ... (I have a '68 kit with FT & MT(s) in the 110xxx range and the BD is 97xxx, so it is a 13,000 number difference)
  2. the snare should be numbered somewhere between 18xxx-21xxx
  3. the finish and seams should all be tight on the shell (Rogers had some of the best glue)